Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
Comment: Updated "Strict Updates" description

...

This command forces all contacts in all destination folders to be completely rewritten. Without this option, only contacts that have changed in the source folder will be updated. This option should be used sparingly because it can put a significant load on your wireless synchronization server(s). This option will remove all changes made by users to their Epicenter contacts, except that changes to Reserved Properties will be kept.

When Strict Updates is checked, Epicenter Server will:

  • Delete all contacts in the destination folder that belong to this task but don’t exist in the source address book.
  • Rewrite all existing contacts to force the information to update, except for Reserved Properties.

The Strict Updates | Once option applies to the next update sent using Send Now. The Strict Updates | Always option means that this setting will always be used. This will cause severe performance problems for large address books!

Exit

Shut down the Epicenter Server application. Scheduled tasks will continue to run even if you close Epicenter.



The Task menu provides commands for managing tasks and sending updates. The Task menu contains the following options:

  • New
  • Edit Settings
  • Rename
  • Delete
  • Select All
  • Send Now
  • Strict Updates
  • Exit

New

Only available when you are in Tasks view. Also available by clicking New on the toolbar. The New command brings up the Configuration property sheet, which is described under Task Settings.

Edit Settings

Only available when you are in Tasks view. To use the Edit command, select a task and then choose Task | Edit, or click Edit on the toolbar. The Edit command brings up the Configuration property sheet, which is described under Task Settings.

Rename

Only available when you are in Tasks view. To use the Rename command, select a task and then choose Task | Rename, orclick Rename on the toolbar. The name of the task will be opened and you can edit the name.

Delete

Available in both Tasks and History views.

When you are in Tasks view. To use the Delete command, select one or more tasks and then choose Task | Delete, orclick Delet on the toolbar. You will be asked to confirm the deletion and then the task will be removed.

Deleting a task does NOT remove the contacts in recipients' mailboxes. To remove the contacts in the mailboxes, use Tools | Cleanup Mailboxes.

Send Now

Only available when you are in Tasks view. Send Now tells Epicenter to run the selected task(s), even if that task isn’t scheduled. Using Send Now will have no impact on the next scheduled update.

If the address book has not been changed since the last update, you will be asked if you really want to send an update.

Select All

Only available when you are in Tasks view. Select All will select all task(s). Then you can use Send Now or Delete to act on all of those tasks.

Strict Updates

This command forces all contacts in all destination folders to be completely rewritten. Without this option, only contacts that have changed in the source folder will be updated. This option should be used sparingly because it can put a significant load on your wireless synchronization server(s). This option will remove all changes made by users to their Epicenter contacts, except that changes to Reserved Properties will be kept.

The Strict Updates option applies to the next “Mailboxes” update sent using Send Now. When Strict Updates is checked, Epicenter Server will:

  • Delete all contacts in the destination folder that belong to this task but don’t exist in the source address book.
  • Rewrite all existing contacts to force the information to update, except for Reserved Properties.

Exit

Shut down the Epicenter Server application. Scheduled tasks will continue to run even if you close Epicenter.